Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €29.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review


1 Things

2 Swim Until You Cant See Land

3 The Loneliness and the Scream

4 The Wrestle

5 Skip The Youth

1 Nothing Like You

2 Man/Bag of Sand

3 FootShooter

4 Not Miserable

5 Living In Colour

6 Yes, I Would

1 Things Live at the Roundhouse, London, UK. December 7th 2016

1 The Wrestle Live at The Grog Shop, Cleveland, OH, USA. May 5th 2010

Frightened Rabbit's The Winter Of Mixed Drinks turns ten this year and in order to celebrate, FatCat Records will
release an Anniversary Edition of the LP. Boasting Limited Edition Ice Blue Vinyl, the Anniversary Edition will also
feature an additional bonus 7” featuring two previously unreleased live tracks, remixed and remastered for this
The Winter Of Mixed Drinks was written over seven weeks in the isolated but beautiful coastal town of Crail in Fyfe,
Scotland, following heavy touring in support of the band's second album The Midnight Organ Fight. Grant Hutchison, drummer, stated “the location had a big impact on the songs. There's definitely a nautical theme to a lot of the
tracks and a feeling of testing yourself to the limit which the sea plays a big part in.”
The album was primarily recorded at Castle Sound Studios in Scotland, with additional recording and production
taking place at Tarquin Studios in Connecticut, alongside their trusted producer Peter Katis.
Upon release in March 2010, the album was greeted with widespread critical acclaim, with Drowned in Sound
praising frontman Scott Hutchison, describing his performance as having “the same tremble in the voice, the same
elegance in the guitar tone, the same march of the Military Tattoo in the rhythm - but a renewed purpose.” The Fly
also praised Scott, claiming him to be “one of the most underrated voices in rock,” and going furtherstating, “what
more could you possibly want from Frightened Rabbit's third album? They're hurling themselves fearlessly at the
bright lights, and coming back all the stronger for it.” The Guardian praised the album's “sharp” song- writing,
stating, “most of their songs - with themes of escape, freedom and reinvention - have huge impassioned choruses
that are made to be shouted from the nearest available mountain,” whilst the NME maintained the album to be
“stunning,”and further wrote “for every song of heartache (“Yes, I Would”) and self-loathing (“The Loneliness & The
Scream”), there's one of redemption (“FootShooter”) or hope (“Swim Until You Can't See Land”). The album deviates
from their previous alt-folkish sensibilities: the fuzzed-up shoegazing of “Things” and the anthemic chorus of
“Living In Colour” herald an exciting new bullshit-free dawn.”
This is an album that all of us here at FatCat and all of those involved in its creation are immensely proud of, as
relevant and striking today as it was upon first listen back at the dawn of a new decade ten years ago.

  • Rock & Pop

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    22 A MILLION
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250