Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €34.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

180G LP + DVD

1. Summer Rain - 2021 Remaster (4:11)

2. Romeos - 2021 Remaster (5:30)

3. She Fades Away - 2021 Remaster (4:59)

4. The Mysteries Of Love - 2021 Remaster (4:56)

5. Ariana - 2021 Remaster (3:44)

6. Heaven Or Hell - 2021 Remaster (3:29)

7. For A Million - 2021 Remaster (6:10)

8. Middle Of The Riddle - 2021 Remaster (3:21)

9. Patricia's Park - 2021 Remaster (4:14)

10. Anyway - 2021 Remaster (2:50)

The Breathtaking Blue - Songlines (49:45)

CD+G animations for all album tracks from 1989

After the enormous global success of their debut album “Forever Young“ (1984), German trio ALPHAVILLE set off to write another successful chapter in their career with the release of their second studio album “Afternoons In Utopia” (1986). The album reached Top 20 positions in five European countries and featured the singles “Dance With Me”, “Universal Daddy”, and “Jerusalem”. Three years later they returned with their third studio album “The Breathtaking Blue” (1989). It introduced new musical elements and a musical concept, added electronic pioneer Klaus Schulze to the production team and embraced emerging technology (including one of the first CD-Graphic releases ever). In addition to the well-produced songs such as the single “Romeos”, the album included the visually stunning and innovative film “Songlines” where nine directors did short movies inspired by one of the album tracks. Later renamed as “Balance “, the short film for the song “Middle of the Riddle” won an Academy Award for “Best Animated Short Film” the following year.
“AFTERNOONS“ is a timeless place we invented to keep on playing, now that we were bound to live forever. Playing like artists, fools or children. I still visit it time and again.” - Marian Gold, February 2021
Now, fans can look forward to remastered and expanded Deluxe Editions of “Afternoons In Utopia” and “The Breathtaking Blue”, personally supervised by ALPHAVILLE founding members Marian Gold and Bernhard Lloyd. Both albums have been remastered for the first time.

The Deluxe Editions will be released on May 7th on various formats:
• Afternoons In Utopia: 1LP, 2CD and digital
• The Breathtaking Blue: 1LP/DVD, 2CD/DVD incl. Songlines and digital

The remastered version of “Next Generation” is available digitally today.

“'Afternoons in Utopia' was created in turbulent times and unfortunately the mastering didn't get the attention it deserved at the time. The album simply didn't sound the way it could have and should have been - both on vinyl and CD. We were able to adjust this and worked with all analogue master tapes. We brought the sound back to life with today's possibilities and a lot of love and patience”, says ALPHAVILLE founding member and keyboardist Bernhard Lloyd.

Afternoons In Utopia (Deluxe Edition) will be available as Deluxe 1LP (180g) including the remastered album, a 24 page booklet with rare and unreleased photos in a gatefold sleeve. The 2CD format features the remastered album on disc 1, disc 2 includes 14 remastered B-sides, 12” & 7” mixes, remixes, demos as well as a rare live version of the single “Dance With Me“ plus a 20-page booklet.

The Breathtaking Blue (Deluxe Edition) will be released as Deluxe 1LP/DVD-format featuring the remastered original album on vinyl (180g) including a 24-page booklet with many and rare photos in a gatefold sleeve, plus the DVD film “The Breathtaking Blue - Songlines“. The 2CD/DVD format contains the remastered album on disc 1, disc 2 features 16 remastered und remixed B-sides, 12”-mixes, remixes of album tracks, plus the DVD film “The Breathtaking Blue” which has been newly digitalized and previously hasn't been released outside of Germany, Austria and Switzerland. This 2CD/DVD format also features a 20-page booklet.

Looking back, singer Marian Gold says: „When our first album emerged from the smut of the Here and Now and our second led back to our roots in Sugar Candy Mountain then THE BREATHTAKING BLUE was our ‘I dont give a shit' album, a self-indulgent arrogant blind shot over the shoulder into the future with our backs to the audience.” - Marian Gold, February 2021

Bernhard Lloyd adds: “The crazy endeavor to turn the entire album into the film ‘Songlines' actually worked out in a wondrous way. A separate short film for each song, from directors all across the world - a project ahead of its time almost 35 years ago. The treasure of original 35mm film tapes have been recovered, the tapes meticulously restored and digitalized. Now, these films can finally be enjoyed in all of their beauty. It's a completely new experience.”

The booklets of both Deluxe Editions have been created with the original designer of both albums.

  • Rock & Pop
  • New Releases

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250