Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €13.99
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

Last spring, Devendra Banhart and Noah Georgeson started to make a record
that was like nothing they had made before — an ambient album that would be
both a haven from a suddenly terrified world and a heartfelt musical dialogue
between two artists who have been friends and collaborators for over two
decades. Refuge is an album of profound meditative beauty which offers the
listener a much-needed sense of peace and renewal. But while it was recorded in
2020 its roots go back much further — all the way to the start of their friendship
and, beyond that, to the shared sounds and ethics of their childhoods.
Devendra grew up in Venezuela while Noah, six years older, is a native of Nevada
City, California. But as they got to know each other, they realised that they had
a similar history in the New Age subculture of the 1980s: a world of meditation,
Eastern music, the Bhagavad Gita and The Whole Earth Catalog. Childhood
memories were coloured by the aromas of health food stores and the sound of
New Age labels like Windham Hill Records. Noah, whose production and mixing
credits include Joanna Newsom and the Strokes, came on board as co-producer
of Devendra's 2005 album Cripple Crow and they have been working together
ever since.
It was while making Devendra's 2019 album Ma that the pair finally decided
to make their ambient record. Despite complicating logistics, 2020 created
an emotional craving for music with this contemplative, therapeutic quality.
Inspired by both memories of the past and the needs of the present, Refuge is an
act of companionship and generosity which gives the listener room to breathe.
“We're hoping to create a sense of comfort and coming back to the moment,”
Devendra says. “It's really important to have a little bit of space between us and
our anxieties and impulses. What you do with that space is up to you.”
Dorian Lynskey
May 2021

1. Book of Bringhi
2. A Cat
3. Rise From Your Wave
4. Peloponnese Lament
5. In a Cistern
6. Into Clouds
7. For Em
8. Three Gates
9. Horn in Deep Night
10. Sky Burial
11. Asura Cave
12. Aran in Repose
13. Lament Return

  • Rock/Pop

  •  Recently Viewed in "Rock/Pop":
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250