Home   Audio   Vinyl   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam Wireless   Marley   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €9.99
Format: Compact Disc/EP/Single
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

Few debut singles in the history of rock & roll have had the immediate and overwhelming impact of The Byrds' version of Bob Dylan's "Mr. Tambourine Man". Marrying a Beatles-like electric jangle to Dylan's insight and folky melody (in many ways, breaking Dylan into the pop market), it not only forecast the band's influence on the future of pop music but reestablished an American rock & roll presence in the face of the British Invasion. The album of the same name, released in June of 1965, was a shotgun blast before the canon roar that Dylan's HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED (released just two months later) would become.
As much as Bob Dylan was an overwhelming influence on the young Byrds--four of the twelve tracks on MR. TAMBOURINE MAN were Dylan songs--his contributions were only a part of what made the band special. The chiming sound of McGuinn's 12-string guitar was the group's backbone, characterising The Byrds' presence in a way few rock instrumentalists had done until then. Gene Clark proved to be a mighty songwriter in his own right--"I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better" has stood the test of time better than any other track here. Yet, what distinguished The Byrds and MR. TAMBOURINE MAN most was that they couldn't be easily pigeonholed. Combining disparate musical backgrounds and openly reconstructing everything from a British wartime standard ("We'll Meet Again") to a Jackie DeShannon pop tune ("Don't Doubt Yourself, Babe") in their own open-minded image, the Byrds kicked down the door to a new sound called folk-rock. Many would soon follow.

Track Listings
Discs 1
1)Mr Tambourine Man
2)I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better
3)Spanish Harlem Incident
4)You Won't Have To Cry
5)Here Without You
6)Bells Of Rhymney
7)All I Really Want To Do
8)I Knew I'd Want You
9)It's No Use
10)Don't Doubt Yourself Babe
11)Chimes Of Freedom
12)We'll Meet Again
13)She Has A Way (previously unreleased bonus track)
14)I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better (2) (alternate version/previously unreleased bonus track)
15)It's No Use (2) (alternative version/previously unreleased bonus track)
16)You Won't Have To Cry (2) (alternative version/previously unreleased bonus track)
17)All I Really Want To Do (2) (single version/previously unreleased bonus track)
18)You And Me (instrumental/previously unreleased bonus track)

  • Rock/Pop

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250