Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam   Marley   Hi-Fi   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €32.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine
Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged
one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine
Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the bands classic
? The reissues will be released by Neil Hannon's own label Divine Comedy Records
on August 21st, 2020
• Absent Friends was first released in 2004. Describing the album, Neil
said: "The songs use stories and characters as a framework to pin my ideas on.
Its mostly about the eternal battle between the pull of personal freedom and
the comfort of domesticity”. The album was recorded by Guy Massey, mixed by
Nigel Godrich and features guest appearances by 6 Music DJ Lauren Laverne
and French multi-instrumentalist Yann Tiersen. “The whole album is rich,
beautiful and can make you smile and cry on the turn of a chorus” stated Phill
Jupitus in the Radio Times, while the Guardian described it as an “ornate
gem” and Word magazine said, “it's Neil Hannon's best yet”. Stand out tracks
from the album include singles Come Home Billy Bird and Absent
Friends, as well as fan favourites Our Mutual Friend and Charmed Life.
? The album has been remastered from the original tapes at the legendary Abbey
Road Studios by mastering engineer Frank Arkwright (Blur, The
Smiths.) Overseeing the audio throughout the campaign is
engineer/mixer/producer Guy Massey, whose work on the Beatles Stereo
Remasters won him a Grammy Award.
? The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second
CD of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon,
much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of
photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and
inspiration behind the album and its songs.
? The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road,
packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is
heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits
and Neils liner notes

1. Absent Friends
2. Sticks and Stones
3. Leaving Today
4. Come Home Billy Bird
5. My Imaginary Friend
6. The Wreck Of The Beautiful
7. Our Mutual Friend
8. The Happy Goth
9. Freedom Road
10. Laikas Theme
11. Charmed Life
Bonus Disc 2
1. Absolute Power
2. Our Mutual Friend (early idea)
3. The Bird Evolution
4. Girl Least Likely
5. Mr Right
6. Sticks and Stones (demo)
7. The Dark Horse
8. Idaho
9. All Things (alternate version)
10. Rose For The Lady
11. Smiler
12. Absent Friends (demo)
13. Anthem For Bored Youth
14. Our Mutual Friend (alternate
15. Antidepressant
16. Windy Pop
17. Laikas Theme (The Promise)
18. Charmed Life (alternate version)

  • Rock & Pop
  • New Releases

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250