Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €14.99
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine
Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one
of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy
Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the bands classic albums

A Short Album About Love was conceived as a companion piece to the bands
previous album Casanova. It was recorded live at the Shepherd's Bush Empire in
London in 1996 with a 30-piece orchestra, and was released in time for Valentine's
Day 1997, charting at 13 in the UK. NME described the show where the album was
recorded as "an evening when dreams finally come true; a night of costume
changes, classical kisses and - in time honoured tradition of drinking and dressing up
- hugely sophisticated fun… One suspects it wouldnt be too hazardous to suggest
that Neil Hannon is having by far the finest night of his entire sodding life." Time
Out, reviewing the album, said: "Seven of the most heart-stoppingly gorgeous,
romantic smoochers you have ever heard, all drenched in strings and emotion." The
single Everybody Knows (Except You) reached 14 in the UK chart.

The album has been remastered from the original tapes at the legendary Abbey
Road Studios by mastering engineer Frank Arkwright (Blur, The Smiths.) Overseeing
the audio throughout the campaign is engineer/mixer/producer Guy Massey, whose
work on the Beatles Stereo Remasters won him a Grammy Award.

The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered 7 track album, with an
additional 12 tracks of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil
Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The 2nd disc is the DVD - A
Short Film About A Short Album About Love - a previously unreleased 50-
minute film of the Shepherd's Bush Empire concert at which Short Album.. was
recorded. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes
written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs.

1. In Pursuit Of Happiness
2. Everybody Knows (Except You)
3. Someone
4. If…
5. If I Were You (Id Be Through
With Me)
6. Timewatching
7. Im All You Need
Bonus material
1. Bath (live)
2. A Short Film About Driving
3. Everybody Knows (Except You)
(early idea)
4. Johnny Mathis Feet (live)
5. Im All You Need (instrumental
6. A Short Film About Dreams
7. Your Daddys Car (live)
8. Teach Us To Love
9. A Short Film About Waiting
10. A Short Film About Chance
11. If I Were You (Id Be Through
With Me) (rehearsal version)
12. Make It Easy On Yourself (live)
Bonus DVD - A Short Film About
A Short Album About Love
1. In Pursuit Of Happiness
2. Everybody Knows (Except You)
3. Someone
4. Timewatching
5. If…
6. If I Were You (Id Be Through
With Me)
7. Im All You Need
8. A Drinking Song
9. Something For The Weekend
10. The Dogs And The Horses

  • Rock/Pop

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250