Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam   Marley   Hi-Fi   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €13.99
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Dispatched on Release

Add To Basket

Submit Review

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine
Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged
one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine
Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the bands classic
The reissues will be released by Neil Hannon's own label Divine Comedy Records
on August 21st, 2020
Victory For The Comic Muse was first released in 2006. Recorded virtually
live in the studio over a two-week period, Victory...' showcased Neils restless
creativity and his flair for observation and narrative. Pitchfork said, "These songs
set lofty goals, and realize them" while The Guardian called it a “triumphant
comeback” and Spin declared "[Hannon] deserves to be recognized as the
unsung genius of symphonic pop." Singles from the album include To Die A
Virgin, Diva Lady and live favourite A Lady Of A Certain Age.
The album has been remastered from the original tapes at the legendary Abbey
Road Studios by mastering engineer Frank Arkwright (Blur, The
Smiths.) Overseeing the audio throughout the campaign is
engineer/mixer/producer Guy Massey, whose work on the Beatles Stereo
Remasters won him a Grammy Award.
The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second
CD of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon,
much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of
photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and
inspiration behind the album and its songs.
The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road,
packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is
heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits
and Neils liner notes

1. To Die A Virgin
2. Mother Dear
3. Diva Lady
4. A Lady Of A Certain Age
5. The Light Of Day
6. Threesome
7. Party Fears Two
8. Arthur C. Clarkes Mysterious
9. The Plough
10. Count Grassis Passage Over
11. Snowball In Negative
Bonus Disc
1. Births, Deaths And Marriages
2. Diva Lady (acoustic version)
3. Home (demo)
4. Pamplemousse
5. Lili Marlene
6. Count Grassis Passage Over
Piedmont (early idea)
7. Count Grassis Passage Over
Piedmont (instrumental)
8. Trafalgar
9. Love/Hate Relationship
10. Miss Sharapova
11. Dont Blame The Young
12. Guantanamo
13. Long Slow Suicide
14. To Die A Virgin (early idea)
15. A Little Bit Of Love (Goes A
Long Long Way)
16. Elaine (alternate version)
17. A Lady Of A Certain Age
18. Premonition Of Love

  • Rock/Pop
  • Pre-Order/Coming Soon

  •  Recently Viewed in "Rock/Pop":
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250