Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam   Marley   Hi-Fi   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €16.99
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Dispatched on Release

Add To Basket

Submit Review

Brand new album from Colorado's freewheelin' melodist Josephine Foster.
Revolving between her adopted Spain and her native American West, Josephine was stationed this spring in Nashville with maverick guitarist and comrade-in-arms Matthew Schneider. The result: ‘No Harm Done', a spacious and enveloping love letter of an album.

Eight new slow-burning songs branch forth from idiosyncratic country folk blues, sung with sibylline wit and a hint of the absurd, awash in sensually anachronic lyricism.
“The Wheel of Fortune”, nearly a title track by virtue of its refrain: No harm will come/if theres no harm done, are words of a homebound wanderer finding refuge in healing stillness with her beloved, having time to kill in the midst of hard times to feel at home. All delivered with calm sagacity upon the pedestal of Mr. Schneiders pedal steel and underscored by a knowing trebled chorus in Fosters lower register. Going nowhere never felt like so righteous of a destination before.

Devotion in all its permutations, spiritual to carnal, are seamlessly explored.
In Conjugal Bliss, overtones of the 12-string and autoharp gently interplay, sounding like some unearthed Carter family wedding hymn (it bears the subversive subtitle 69 ) while How come, Honeycomb? bounces low in the hips like a sultry old music hall number à la Harry Nilsson. The obliquely sapphic Leonine, its unquiet harp scaling right out of ancient Lesbos, dreams of a kingless land; in Sure Am Devilish, a stargazer humbly confesses to a lowercase lord. Old Saw, the mesmeric album closer, is a mediums petition to cross the threshold and merge with the holy spirit.

Josephines enigmatic voice captured once more by frequent co-producer Andrija Tokic in his analog Bomb Shelter studio, where layers of her guitar, piano, organ entwine with Schneiders 12-string, pedal steel and electric bass to rouse a spectral yet full blooded band. The ensuing cycle of songs pulse and glow within the ruins and deep fundamental roots of American song.

“Remarkable, ghostly music” - The Guardian

Track List:
Side A
1 Freemason Drag
2 The Wheel of Fortune
3 Conjugal Bliss
4 Love Letter
Side B
5 Sure Am Devilish
6 Leonine
7 How Come, Honeycomb?
8 Old Saw

  • Folk
  • Pre-Order/Coming Soon

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250