Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €36.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

1. Just Like Honey - Live
2. The Living End - Live
3. Taste The Floor - Live
4. The Hardest Walk - Live
5. Cut Dead - Live
6. In A Hole - Live
7. Taste Of Cindy - Live
8. Never Understand - Live
9. Inside Me - Live
10. Sowing Seeds - Live
11. My Little Underground - Live
12. You Trip Me Up - Live
13. Somethings Wrong - Live
14. Its So Hard - Live

In November 2014 The Jesus and Mary Chain celebrated three decades of their incendiary cult-classic debut album, Psychocandy, with a run of tour dates in which the infamous Scottish group played the album in full for the very first time in the band's history. As part of the Psychocandy tour, the Mary Chain descended on Glasgow's Barrowland Ballroom - a legendary venue down the road from where the Reid brothers grew up in neighbouring East Kilbride - and tore through the songs that would propel them to worldwide acclaim upon Psychocandy's release in 1985.

The Barrowland performance - an equal-parts deafening and blinding assault on the senses - was cut to vinyl by engineer Noel Summerville and originally released in 2015. Fast forward to 2022 and the Live at Barrowland album is now reissued by Fuzz Club Records. The 2022 reissue comes with new artwork.

The influence that Psychocandy and its pioneering sonic belligerence had on popular music cannot be overstated. Taking bittersweet pop melodies and tearing them up apart through the medium of buzzsaw guitars, ear-piercing feedback and an unapologetic hostility towards their listeners, the band's breakthrough album experimented with noise in a way that had never been done before and would inspire for generations to come. The Live At Barrowland LP captures ‘Psychocandy's complete 14 tracks in a live setting and in all their boundary-pushing and feedback-ridden glory. The CD version of the reissue and download card with the vinyl feature seven bonus tracks taken from the prelude set on the night, including such fan-favourites as ‘April Skies', ‘Head On' and ‘Reverence'.

  • Rock & Pop

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250