Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €16.99
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

Strange Wonders, The Wexford Carols, Vol. II brings together folk, classical and traditional music luminaries to present Ireland's greatest Christmas music.

Produced by Ethan Johns featuring vocals by Caitriona O'Leary, Seth Lakeman, John Smith, Clara Sanabras & Stile Antico with Instrumentalists Alison Balsom, Olov Johansson, Simone Collavecchi & Others.

The Wexford Carols are Ireland's greatest Christmas music and perhaps the most important body of Christmas carols in English yet to be introduced to the public. In 2014 Heresy Records released The Wexford Carols to international acclaim. The album reached #1 on both the Billboard and Amazon charts. The first Wexford Carols release focused on the well-known episodes of the Christmas story and took a stylistic approach that integrated Irish traditional music with Americana.

Strange Wonders, The Wexford Carols Vol. II, presents the highly anticipated follow up to the previous album. The new album features 11 carols from the Waddinge and Deveraux collections that focus on the spiritual and mystical aspects of the Christmas story and also some less familiar aspects of this narrative including carols about the lives of saints whose feast days fall within the 12 days of Christmas (24th December - 6th January). These includes carols on St. Stephen, St. John, St. Sylvester and the Holy Innocents.

Producer Ethan Johns has adopted an intimate interpretation of these remarkable and moving carols that integrates early music, folk music and classical styles.

For Strange Wonders, The Wexford Carols Vol. II singer/arranger Caitriona O'Leary and producer, Ethan Johns brought together an ensemble comprised of leading virtuosi from folk and classical music including, Seth Lakeman (voice, fiddle, viola), Clara Sanabras (voice, baroque guitar), John Smith (voice, guitar), Stile Antico (Choir), Alison Balsom (trumpet), Olov Johannson (nyckelharapa), Simone Collavechi (lute), Deirdre O'Leary (clarinet), Mel Mercier (percussion), Ethan Johns (harmonium), John Hearne (baroque bassoon).

Track listing:

1. Ye Sons of Men

2. The Darkest Midnight in December -

3. This Great Mysterie (aka This Christmass Day you Pray Me Sing)

4. On Christmas Night All Christians Sing

5. The Night of the Nativity

6. St. Stephen had an Angel's Face

7. On St. Stephen's Day (aka This is St. Stephens Day)

8. A Carol for St. John's Day

9. Hail ye Flow'rs of Martyrs

10. This Feast of St. Sylvester

11. The Enniscorthy Christmas Carol

  • Irish
  • Xmas
  • New Releases

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250