Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam   Marley   Hi-Fi   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €26.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

1. Whole New Mess
2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
3. (New Love) Cassette
4. (We Are All Mirrors)
5. (Summer Song)
6. Waiving, Smiling
7. Tonight (Without You)
8. Lark Song
9. Impasse (Workin' For The Name)
10. Chance (Forever Love)
11. What It Is (What It Is)

The time had come, Angel Olsen realized in the fading summer of 2018, to take her new
songs out of the house. Olsen's 2016 marvel, My Woman, had been a career breakthrough,
but it catalyzed a period of personal tumult, too: a painful breakup, an uneasy recovery, an
inadequate reckoning. At home in North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains, Olsen penned
songs that finally grappled with these troubles, particularly love—how forever is too much
to promise, how relationships can lock us into static versions of ourselves, how you can go
through hell just to make someone else happy. These heartsore explorations shape Whole
New Mess, Olsen's first solo album since her 2012 debut and an emotional portrait so
intimate and vulnerable you can hear her find meaning in these crises in real-time.
At least nine of the eleven songs on Whole New Mess should sound familiar to anyone
who has heard All Mirrors, Olsen's grand 2019 masterpiece that earned high honors on
prestigious year-end lists and glossy spreads in stylish magazines. “Lark,” “Summer,”
“Chance”—they are all here, at least in some skeletal form and with slightly different titles.
But these are not the demos for All Mirrors. Instead, Whole New Mess is its own record
with its own immovable mood, with Olsen working through her open wounds and raw
nerves with just a few guitars and some microphones, isolated in a century-old church
in the Pacific Northwest. If the lavish orchestral arrangements and cinematic scope of All
Mirrors are the sound of Olsen preparing her scars for the wider world to see, Whole New
Mess is the sound of her first figuring out their shape, making sense for herself of these
Considered alongside All Mirrors, Whole New Mess is a poignant and pointed reminder
that songs are more than mere collections of words, chords, and even melodies. They are
webs of moods and moments and ideas, qualities that can change from one month to the
next and can say just as much as the perfect progression or an exquisite chord. In that
sense, these 11 songs—solitary, frank, and unflinching examinations of what it's like to
love, lose, and survive—are entirely new. This is the sound of Angel Olsen, sorting through
the kind of trouble we've all known, as if just for herself and whoever else needs it.

  • Rock & Pop
  • Bestselling Recent Releases

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250