Home   Audio   Vinyl   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam Wireless   Marley   Tower Hi-Fi   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €2.00
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

The Boston/Brooklyn-based trio known as Prince Rama gets a break on their fourth full-length. Signed to Animal Collective's Paw Tracks imprint after member Avey Tare caught them at South by Southwest, he and A.C.'s Deakin subsequently produced Shadow Temple. Musically, Prince Rama -- sisters Tanaka and Nimai Larson, and Michael Collins -- are inspired to create tribal psychedelia by borrowing a chapter from Amon D l II's hypnospheric playbook. Driven by loads (and loads) of drums and percussion instruments, whacked-out synths, and the occasional snaky electric guitar, these eight tracks carry within them the ability to shift brain waves en masse and transport the listener somewhere else. There are five original numbers here, as well as readings of three sacred mantras from the Indian Hindu tradition (Prince Rama's members grew up on a large Hare Krishna farm in Florida, though they all claim they no longer follow the faith). Whether it's the opener, "Om Mani Padme Hum," its proceeding track, "Om Namo Shivaya," or the closer, "Raghupati," the unhinged, high-pitched, operatic, and low, throat-sung vocals, feel like they are invoking wrathful deities from outside the time-space continuum. This music was created for the purpose of trying to remove listeners from the confines of their bodies. (Think early Gang Gang Dance multiplied by ten.) The chants are followed to the letter lyrically, but musically, Prince Rama create their own sonic spaces in which to execute them. While the chants are compelling, it's the original material that excites. Check the interwoven synth and drum lines in "Lightening Fossil" (sic), that make up the entire mid-section of the track as cascading vocals, in classically structured harmony, are stacked one upon one another to compete with the low, rolling drums and cosmic synth washes. The nasty, crashing electric guitar riffs that open "Thunderdrums" actually assist in making the track sound like its name; syncopated and repetitive drumming all take their places inside the flowing architecture of the track -- interrupted occasionally by a digital delay. The coolest thing about this mess of orgiastic sound is that it's totally possible to envision it being played live; it feels present, inside your skin, under your muscles, and inside your veins. Shadow Temple is physical music that evokes the spirit world; it rocks, but it soars too; creating a soundtrack for some kind of apocalypse.

Track Listings
Discs 1
1)Om Mane Padme Hum
2)Om Namo Shivaya
4)Storm Worship
5)Lightning Fossil
7)Satt Nam

  • Rock/Pop

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250