Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €32.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

“I've never heard Gerry sing so well. He never fails to amaze me.”

Billy Connolly, May 2021

Gerry Rafferty's first posthumous album Rest In Blue will be released on vinyl on 15th April and can be pre-ordered here. It comes out a day before what would've been his 75th birthday. Rest In Blue showcases Gerry's songwriting and vocals in superb form, culminating in an album brimming with raw emotion, and a quintessential collection of blues, rock, and folk. It will be released on 2LP black vinyl, with side D featuring a beautiful etching.

It comes in time for what would've been Gerry's 75th birthday on 16th April, an apt time to celebrate one of Scotland's and the UK's finest songwriters of all-time. He first found success as part of the band The Humblebums, which included beloved comedian, actor and musician Billy Connolly. Rafferty went on to form Stealers Wheel with old school friend Joe Egan, who produced a number of successful albums alongside the rock classic Stuck In The Middle With You, a track which has transcended generations with notable syncs in films such as Tarantino's Reservoir Dogs, and is still widely popular to this day. Following his departure from Stealers Wheel, Rafferty relaunched his solo career in 1978 with the album City To City, including hits such as Right Down The Line and Baker Street, which features the iconic saxophone solo by MOJO

Raphael Ravenscroft. The former, Right Down The Line, was recently featured on HBO's Euphoria, with an immense number of young fans across the globe discovering and loving Gerry's music for the very first time. His music truly stands the test of time and transcends generations, solidifying his status one of the finest musicians and songwriters to come out of the UK.

Rest In Blue was a project that Gerry's daughter, Martha Rafferty, sought to complete following Gerry's sad passing in 2011. He had been working on a new album on and off since 2006, featuring many demos he had written throughout his illustrious career, some even dating back as far as 1970. Many of the demos left by Gerry included multiple layers of synths, which Martha stripped back to showcase his immense vocal ability.

With elements of the songs written at varying parts of Gerry's career, the album tackles a variety of topics including, climate change on Sign Of The Times, questioning the legality of war in Lost Highway, and addressing problems with his alcoholism in the emotively honest Still In Denial. As well as many brand-new originals penned by Gerry, the album features popular traditional folk songs such as Wild Mountain Thyme and Dirty Old Town. It also features a cover of Richard & Linda Thompson's It's Just The Motion, an artist Gerry was a big admirer of. The album finishes with a re-record of the Stealers Wheel classic Stuck In The Middle With You recorded back in the 90s, that gives the track a fresh, country-inspired interpretation.

Rest In Blue called upon many musicians that had worked closely with Gerry throughout his career. One of which is guitarist Hugh Burns, who played on a vast amount of Rafferty's catalogue, including the powerful guitar solo on Baker Street. Renowned vocalist Katie Kissoon performed backing vocals on many of the tracks, having previously worked with the likes of Eric Clapton, Roger Waters, George Michael and many more. Rest In Blue also features Alan Clark, formerly of Dire Straits, on piano and the Hammond organ, alongside many other incredible musicians. Whilst the album features many long-time collaborators, it also features bright, upcoming talent in the form of producer Tambala, who co-produced and mixed the track Slow Down, the album's first single which is available to listen to now.


Side A:

1) Still In Denial

2) Full Moon

3) Sign Of The Times

4) You Are All I Want

5) I Still Love You

Side B:

1) Wild Mountain Thyme

2) Slow Down

3) It's Just The Motion

4) Look At Me Now

Side C:

1) Dirty Old Town

2) Lost Highway

3) Keeper Of My Soul

4) Precious Memories

5) Stuck In The Middle With You

Side D:


  • Rock & Pop
  • New Releases

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250