Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Sennheiser   Jam   Marley   Hi-Fi   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €34.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

LP + 7"

Tanita Tikaram celebrates her 50th birthday with the release of a brand new collection of 14 songs spanning over thirty years and nine albums. To Drink The Rainbow is the third release on Needle Mythology - the label co-founded by record collector, music writer and broadcaster Pete Paphides. Of the release, Pete says, “Tanita is best-known for Twist In My Sobriety, but in the ensuing decades, she's amassed an incredible body of work. As she's matured, her curiosity and enthusiasm have helped shape a very different artist to the teenage Virginia Woolf obsessive a lot of people remember from those early Top of the Pops appearances. No-one else sounds like her; and when it comes to direct, emotionally disarming melodies, she's one of my all-time favourites.” Tanita collaborated closely on the selection of songs for the record, providing notes for each of the twelve songs on the record. Standouts include Only The Ones We Love, featuring beautiful harmonies from Jennifer Warnes, who reached out to Tanita after hearing her multi-million selling debut album Ancient Heart; the startlingly raw intimacies of My Love and the title track, of which she says, “There's a scene Fantasia where the cherubs drink the rainbow. The symbolism of the rainbow touches on a lot of different things that are close to me.” To Drink The Rainbow is the third release on Needle Mythology, following the label's universally acclaimed expanded reissues of Stephen Duffy's I Love My Friends and Ian Broudie's Tales Told. As with those records, the artwork of To Drink The Rainbow is unique to this release. The songs included on To Drink The Rainbow were specially mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road for 180g vinyl. The album has been pressed at the old EMI pressing plant in Hayes Middlesex, now operated by Vinyl Factory. To Drink The Rainbow will be released on gatefold vinyl and CD. The vinyl pressing will come with a two-track seven-inch EP featuring two songs previously unavailable on vinyl: an acoustic version of Ancient Heart, and an early version of Glass Love Train which has never been released in any format. The main album will also feature specially written liner notes and lyrics to all the songs –eight of which have never previously been available on vinyl. The CD will feature all twelve songs on the album as well as the two extra tracks.
1. My Love
2. Play Me Again
3. Cool Waters
4. Only The Ones We Love
5. Trouble
6. I Think Of You - E Penso A Te
7. The Way You Move
8. Love Is Just A Word
9. Amore Si
10. To Drink The Rainbow (Acoustic)
11. Can't Go Back
12. Every Day Is New
13. Glass Love Train (L.A. Version)
14. Valentine Heart (Acoustic)
7” Tracks
1. Glass Love Train (L.A. Version)
2. Valentine Heart (Acoustic)

  • Rock & Pop

  • Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250