Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €42.99
Format: LP
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

2 LP

President Michael D. Higgins, Bono, Liam Neeson, Jessie Buckley and more bring
the work of Patrick Kavanagh to life on new record

President Michael D. Higgins, Bono, Liam Neeson, Jessie Buckley and more bring the
work of seminal Irish poet Patrick Kavanagh to life on a new record, ‘Almost
Everything…' , set for release on Friday 23rd September 2022 from Claddagh
Originally released on Claddagh Records in 1964, the double album also features the
only recording of the revered Irish poet reading his most celebrated poems. Now
remastered and reimagined this new two-part album features the original
recordings and Kavanagh's poetry read by Bono, Hozier, Imelda May, Liam Neeson,
Jessie Buckley, Aidan Gillen, Lisa McGee, Lisa Hannigan, President Michael D.
Higgins, Evanna Lynch, Sharon Corr, Kathleen Watkins, Christy Moore, Rachael
Blackmore and Aisling Bea set to a truly wonderful music composition.
The music on this record is recorded by Cormac Butler, producer extraordinaire,
songwriter and mix engineer of Faction Records. Cormac has an extensive and
wide-ranging discography from All Tvvins to James Vincent McMorrow to Sorcha
Richardson to The Academic to Gavin James and The Coronas.
The physical formats of this album include a booklet containing all the poetry one
will hear on the album.
The vinyl format of this release contains two truly unique vinyl sleeves. The first hosts
a printed collage of sketches of all the celebrated readers around Patrick Kavanagh,
with Kavanagh himself visible through the gold-foil cut-out square on the cover
itself. The second vinyl sleeve is an exact replica of the original 1963 release.

LP 1 - Side A
1. On Raglan Road (read by Bono)
2. Stony Grey Soil (read by Michael D. Higgins)
3. Memory of My Father (read by Liam Neeson)
4. Canal Bank Walk (read by Imelda May)
5. Peace (read by Hozier)
6. Inniskeen Road: July Evening (read by Lisa McGee)
7. In Memory of my Mother (read by Kathleen Watkins)
8. The Hospital (read by Lisa Hannigan)
9. Pegasus (read by Rachael Blackmore)
LP 1 - Side B
1. October (read by Christy Moore)
2. Shancoduff (read by Aisling Bea)
3. Lines Written on a Seat on the Grand Canal, Dublin (read by Evanna Lynch)
4. Extract from ‘The Great Hunger' (read by Aidan GIllen)
5. A Christmas Childhood (read by Sharon Corr)
6. Epic (read by Jessie Buckley)
LP 2 - Side A (Read by Patrick Kavanagh)
1. Autobiographical Prose
LP 2 - Side B (Read by Patrick Kavanagh)
1. The Same Again
2. Jungle
3. Narcissus and the Women
4. Epic
5. God in Woman
6. Kerr's Ass
7. Peace
8. The Hospital
9. On the Death of Jim Larkin
10. Extract from ‘The Great Hunger'
11. Living in the Country: Part One
12. Dear Folks
13. Miss Universe
14. About Reason, Maybe
15. To Hell With Commonsense
16. October
17. Come Dance With Kitty Stobling
18. Prelude
19. Having Confessed

About Claddagh Records:
Claddagh Records was set up in 1959 by the Hon. Garech Browne (19) and his friend,
Ivor Browne, both students of Leo Rowsome, one of Ireland's leading uilleann pipers.
Their efforts to interest the established international record companies in recording a
long-playing record of Rowsome's music met with little enthusiasm. And so, the two
young men set about establishing a record company that would record traditional
Irish music, poetry and the spoken word. The following year Claddagh Records was
born when Leo Rowsome's Rí na bPíobairí (King of Pipers) was released. The
Chieftains recorded their first album on the label in 1964. Other artists that recorded
on the label included Tommie Potts, Willie Clancy, Seamus Ennis, Liam O'Flynn and
Sean O'Riada. Spoken word albums with Patrick Kavanagh, Samuel Beckett, Austin
Clarke, John Montague, Thomas Kinsella and Seamus Heaney were also released on

  • Irish
  • Spoken Word
  • New Releases

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250