Home   Vinyl   Audio   DVD    Blu-Ray   4K   3D   Accessories   T-Shirts   Hi-Fi   Sennheiser   Jabra   Jam   Marley   Books   Online Gift Vouchers   Contact 
shopping_basket (0)

Price: €14.99
Format: Compact Disc
Availability: Immediate Dispatch

Add To Basket

Submit Review

2 CD

‘A Rock In The Weary Land' was The Waterboys' seventh studio album, originally released
on 25 September 2000. The recording saw the return of the band name after Mike Scotts
two solo albums and featured contributions from two original Waterboys, Kevin Wilkinson
and Anthony Thistlethwaite, and some brilliant new ones including keyboard players
Thighpaulsandra and Sir Richard Naiff. NME described the album as "a masterpiece" and
Mojo called it “brazen, unapologetic, vital”.
This Cooking Vinyl release marks the first time the album has been reissued, and its first ever
release on vinyl. Mike Scott has curated this definitive version, with the sequence on the LPs
and CD Disc 1 based on the 14-song 2001 US edition, which added ‘Lucky Day / Bad Advice'
and ‘My Lord, What A Morning' to the original UK version. The 2CD version features twelve
previously unreleased tracks, chosen by Scott, and the 4th side of the 2LP vinyl version is
taken up with a spectacular 16-minute live version of Waterboys classic Savage Earth Heart.
Scott has also overseen a re-working of the artwork, using a different Steve Gullick photo
from the original album cover sessions on the front, while both vinyl and CD formats include
many previously unseen shots. The CD package includes a 28-page booklet, and the vinyl
album comes in a gatefold sleeve. The vinyl format is 2 x 180g LTD Edition Sky Blue
coloured vinyl.
1. Let It Happen
2. The Charlatans Lament
3. Is She Conscious?
4. We Are Jonah
5. Its All Gone
6. My Love Is My Rock In The Weary Land
7. Lucky Day / Bad Advice
8. His Word Is Not His Bond
9. Malediction
10. Dumbing Down The World
11. The Wind In The Wires
12. Night Falls On London
13. Crown
14. My Lord, What A Morning
1. Fanfare by ThighPaulSandra
2. Sad Procession
3. Is She Conscious? (Acoustic Demo)
4. Dumbing Down The World (Live At Glastonbury)
5. Trouble Down Yonder
6. In The Long Low Weary Land
7. Wintermind
8. Never Been Out Of Love
9. Somewhere In The Bleak Mid-Distance Something Beautiful Is Born
10. Anatomy Of A Love Affair
11. Is She Conscious (Funky Thumbs)
12. Martin Decent
13. Time, Space And The Brides Bed
14. Oh Yeah / Ill Be Satisfied
15. Carolans Weird Welcome
16. Since The Fire Started Burning In My Soul
17. The Height Of His Head
18. My Love Is My Rock (Instrumental With Choir)
19. It Bends Towards Justice
20. The Last Rock Freak Out

  • Rock/Pop
  • New Releases

  •  Customers who bought this item also bought:
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

    Sign-up to our newsletter
    Marketing Permissions:
    Tower Records Dublin will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:
    You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at towerrecordsdublin@gmail.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

    We use MailChimp as our marketing automation platform. By clicking below to submit this form, you acknowledge that the information you provide will be transferred to MailChimp for processing in accordance with their Privacy Policy and Terms.

    Location and Opening Times For...
    003 531 671 3250